Some people think universities should provide knowledge and skills related to a future career; other think the true function of a university is to give access to knowledge for its own sake. What is your opinion of the main function of a university?

Nowadays, there is an increasing number of people who express concern regarding the school purposes. There still is a controversial issue that the university should whether provide knowledge and skill related to future career or give access to knowledge for its own sake. From my perspective, I strongly believe that school should provide common knowledge for the following reasons.

Firstly, participating in a university which gives priority to common knowledge could help students to broaden their horizon. It is because that a curriculum with a lot of subjects would create an objective view of the whole world for people. Therefore, it will maximize their chance to seek out their passion. For example, there are a large number of students after were involved in an abundance curriculum have many interesting experiences and take solid steps to build their own path.

Secondly, the function of schools is not only promoting student's work prospect but also improving their intellectual, moral, physical and psychological development. So if the school just concentrate on career purposes, students will lack social skills and emotions, which play an essential role in helping them to become qualified citizens. To illustrate, the world has witnessed a lot of people who had excellent intelligence but did not have a right recognization regarding social value caused a huge number of serious problems for the human. They are Hitler, Pol Pot and so on.

It does not mean that we should ignore the function of educating career of school. It is necessary to improve student's working skills to support them become competitive in a job market, which can help them earn a livelihood and raise their family.

In conclusion, providing common knowledge is one of the most important functions of schools. Besides, they should also equipment their student with working skills in order to help them have a nice future.