Some people think that universities should provide graduates with the knowledge and skills needed in the workplace. Others think that the true function of a university should be to give access to knowledge for its own sake, regardless of whether the course is useful to an employer. What, in your opinion, should be the main function of a university?

Should universities provide alumnus with the knowledge and skills needed in the work environment has been a debating topic in recent years. Debaters divide into two groups, one group agree that higher education establishment should do it, while the other group believe the origin objective of tertiary institutions is to give access to knowledge for its own sake, no matter whether the lesson is useful to a manager or not. Personally, I have evidence to say that universities don't provide enough knowledge and skills for their student to survive in the real workplace.

First of all, we have to understand the fact that workplace isn't like any class, there is nothing such as doing something again if it has been done the wrong way. In a work environment, if I make a flaw, I will have to be responsible for it, which could end up making me losing my money. That is the most important thing university does not teach their pupil.

Furthermore, I bet every single student have ever participate in team project. And when the teacher mark the score, they mark each individual separately. This has lead many people to think that when doing team project at work, they only need to do their job and ignore others work. Believe it or not, this is the biggest mistake school and university have taught their students. In real workplace, the boss only look at the team final result (remember that all the team not only one individual), and if I done my part really well but others not do their part well, our team will still get reprimand no matter that isn't my fault. This happens due to the fact that manager only care about the team result, not your.

In conclusion, I believe university main function is to teach students about skills to survive in the workplace where you can easily be fired just by your team small mistake no matter who causes it, not to teach something not even related to what the graduates really need to know.