Some people think that universities should provide graduates with the knowledge and skills needed in the workplace. Others think that the true function of a university should be to give access to knowledge for its own sake, regardless of whether the course is useful to an employer. What, in your opinion, should be the main function of a university?

At the present time, people hold contrasting opinions on what the function of a university should be. From my own perspective, I believe its main purpose should be to prepare students for a career. This point has a wealth of benefits but especially offering them a higher return on their investments.

To start off with, higher education will be the best investment for students if it focuses on preparing them for their career. If people want to learn something just for its own sake, they can learn from online courses or read some books that are not only convenient but also cheaper than joining a college or university. Obviously, almost all students turn to universities with the expectation that those skills and knowledge can secure them a chance for employment. Moreover, they also hope that it can help them to get a higher-paying job than the others and to live a better life.

Additionally, the job market requires specific skills that can only be acquired from domain experts. For instance, hospitals are competing for distinguished people with bachelor of medicine degrees. If universities don’t supply the right skills to meet the demand of employees, many industries will advance at a much slower pace.

According to the above-mentioned analysis, it is manifest that universities should aim to prepare students for the workplace or else, it will be wasted and universities will fail to live up to their social responsibility.