Some people think that universities should provide graduates with the knowledge and skills needed in the workplaces. Others think that the true function of a university should be to give access to knowledge for its own sake, regardless of whether the course is useful to an employer. What, in your opinion, should be the main function of a university?

People have different views on what sort of knowledge universities should provide for their students. Some people believe that universities should prepare students with skills which are useful in the workplace, while others do not agree with this view. I would agree with the idea of providing graduates with practical knowledge and skills which are needed in the workplace.

The main role of universities is to increase the knowledge of students. Universities need to teach students about subjects which are related to their working lives and private life. Sometimes universities have to provide students with some knowledge which is not necessarily required at work. Most students are taught about art and history of their country by their professors at universities. For example when I was at the university, I had some courses about history, religion and geography. All of these courses were useful for me and they increased my general information, however they did not have any role in my career path.

In fact I believe that universities should offer courses which are suitable for workplace. Nowadays the job market is competitive and most employers value practical and technological skills. Therefore, students who have studied management, engineering and medicine have better chances for getting a job. I believe that some courses related to engineering, medicine and management are more beneficial for students because students who have studied such courses have much better job opportunities and career progression. In addition, preparation of students with the knowledge which is required in the workplace also has benefits for society as it could lead to new inventions and economic growth.

In summary, in my view students should be taught about the knowledge which is useful for them at the workplace and universities must focus on practical and technological skills.