Some people think that employers should not care about the way their employees dress, because what matters is the quality of their work. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

People have different ideas about whether employers should pay attention to the way their employees wear or not. While I agree that workforces should have the freedom to choose what they dress in the workplace, I believe that the existence of dress codes is necessary for some special professions.

On the one hand, nowadays many modern employers prefer to focus more on the results than on the rules that their staff have to follow for their working clothing. I see this as a positive trend. In the world, we can see that in many famous companies, such as Google, officials have stopped telling their workers what to wear, and they try to provide a relaxed work atmosphere. However, in such corporations, while individuals, ranging from managers to the staff are free to wear casually, they are also expected to perform their jobs as efficiently as they can and produce a work of outstanding quality. According to the performance and global dominance of these companies can be understood, uniforms are completely unnecessary in the technology sectors.

On the other hand, I can explain why uniforms are still necessary and practical in some work contexts. Most people still expect to see some professionals, such as doctors, nurses, firefighters and police officers in special clothes. Some of the uniforms are used because of their safety and practical functions. For example, firefighters must dress in fireproof uniforms to protect themselves from blaze and flammable materials. Police officers need to wear their special clothing to show their authority, honesty and determination. Doctors and nurses also have to use disposable face masks, hats and dresses to take care of themselves from infectious and viral diseases and to follow hygiene protocols.

In conclusion, in my view, according to the type of jobs and workplaces, officials have to decide whether the existence of dress codes are necessary or not.