Some people think that the use of computers in primary and secondary schools makes education more enjoyable and efficient, while others believe that too much dependence on computers causes both physical and emotional problems. Discuss both points of view and give your opinion.

Roughly invented 70 years ago, computers are now seen and used almost everywhere, especially in educational institutes. While it is a common belief that computer usage plays an important role in stimulating students’ study and makes it more entertaining and effective, I hold the view that excessive reliance on the greatest scientific invention can be detrimental to people’s health and emotion.

On the one hand, a majority of people assume that the benefits of having computers in classrooms far outweigh the drawbacks. First of all, students’ dynamism and curiosity are remarkably enhanced by virtue of the application of computers in education. For instance, computers with Internet access do not only bring a huge source of useful information and lively pictures but they also stimulate students’ imagination and creativity, which in turn makes them more interactive in class. Additionally, computers and visual aids enable students to be more excited and confident in expressing their ideas. If students just sit still at their desk and listen to lectures, they will probably become passive, fatigued and uninterested in study. As a result, the cognitive abilities of students would be adversely affected.

On the other hand, it is my belief that young students’ early exposure to computers is more likely to lead to disastrous consequences. Perceptibly, students’ physical health would deteriorate after prolonged sitting at a computer terminal. At the age of physical development, all they have to do is engage in outdoor activities in order to strengthen immunity and to fight diseases. Using computers for extended periods causes eyesight problems, migraine headaches, severe fatigue, which will lead to appetite loss and declining health. Another foreseeable drawback is that students also suffer from mental illnesses from long-term computer use. These days, it is not difficult for teenage students to get access to pornographic and violent websites. These inappropriate web pages can spoil students’ minds, which inclines them towards imitation. Additionally, by using computers, students can indulge themselves in online games of raising a virtual character. As a result, they do not have enough time to rest and may have sleep disorders which will later increase chances of developing mental health problems.

In conclusion, while having computers in classrooms come with some benefits, I believe we should not allow students to use them for the reasons mentioned above.