Some people think that work is the most important thing of people’s life. Without the success of career, life will become meaningless. To what extent, do you agree or disagree?

There is a common belief that job achievement is an indispensable part of one individual’s life. Personally, I strongly refute this claim as there are other more significant factors in making people’s lifetime meaningful.

On the one hand, it is somewhat reasonable that work plays a critical role in people’s life. Normally, an average person spends at least eight hours per day at the workplace, which means working time accounts for a considerable amount of time. Thus, if he holds a successful career that blooms, he is likely to be satisfied with both wealth and admiration he obtained. Bill Gates, an American respectful billionaire, who achieved a desirable career and a content personal life, would serve as an excellent example. Furthermore, the state of being stuck in an unsuccessful occupation might have a destructive influence on anyone’s spirit, which could lead to severe health problems such as depression or autism. Consequently, those with turbulent career and job dissatisfaction are prone to have a negative outlook on their lives.

I am in favour of the fact that there are more desired goals, rather than a successful career, worth attaining in life. Firstly, a vast majority of people perceive a meaningful life when devoting their time to support other less fortunate people. They may feel content as their efforts could contribute to a higher rate of children receiving formal education or a greater number of the poor getting rid of underprivileged conditions, for example. Secondly, there are still a number of people who do not enter the workforce, but satisfy with their lives. This is because they may find the time with family more valuable than competing with other colleagues or getting promoted. In fact, images of female breadwinners Korea are becoming more common as the percentage of house-husbands is currently increasing.

In conclusion, a successful occupation path is not the sole element creating a happy life as helping other people and spending time with family are more important.