In the modern world, mobile and smartphone use has become universal in most parts of the world. Although there are clearly many advantages of this technology, there are many who believe it also brings many disadvantages. Discuss both points of view and give your opinion

In this day and age, it is undeniable that technology has become ubiquitous across the globe. And, whether it brings more harm than good is a debatable issue. Personally, I believe that its demerits are, by far, more significant.

On the one hand, there is little room for doubt that the technological innovations such as mobile and smart phone have brought great benefits to our daily lives. First, it is obvious that this technology has facilitated communication to be considerably easier and more convenient. If sending a message, used to take many hours or even days to reach recipients due to vast distances, now thanks to smartphones, it is completed in less than a blink of eyes, as a result, it serves as an instant tool for modern people to keep in contact with friends or family. More importantly, these portable devices can enable us to be well-informed of up-to-minute what is happening in the world. For example, thanks to thousands of online newspaper apps, someone can catch up the latest news about a terrorist attack in the Eastern Centre immediately whilst he is commuting to work. Thus, cell phones is truly playing an indispensable part as a huge source of information.

On the other hand, despite those unquestionable advantages of this technology, I would argue that its drawbacks should not be underestimated. The fact that these so-called useful devices give rise to an unexpected sedentary lifestyle is becoming alarming. Children who are exposed to smartphone since their early age may suffer from technological addiction in which they are prone to stick to screen for long hours and neglect outdoor activities. Another threat is that people are more likely to base their lives around smartphones, consequently, they immerse themselves in virtual space and ignore the importance face-to-face interaction. In fact, it is not impossible to notice the usual image of people who are walking on the street or having meals but constantly surfing their phones.

In conclusion, it is my belief that the disadvantages of smart phone should be taken into careful consideration before a technology-dependent generation is expected.