Some people think that young people should be required to do unpaid work helping people in the community. Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

In recent years, the idea of young individuals should or shouldn’t contribute their works to society without being paid has become a hotly debated topic. While there are undeniable obvious benefits, I firmly believe that the disadvantages of taking part in helping people in the community outweigh its advantages.

At the first point of discussion, doing voluntary work has several compelling benefits. Firstly, the ability to meet different kinds of people. By working in a group, young people will have a chance to communicate more with other people, therefore, extend their social circle and forge stronger relationships among citizens. Not only that, working together as a team allows them to develop their communication skills, and their teamwork. For example, in some charity events, people are asked to be divided into groups and work together doing their task. As a result, this will encourage more people to participate in physical activities, thus, feel more thankful and personally connected with other people.

However, despite these benefits. I believe that adolescents must be aware of the considerable challenges they may face. First and foremost among them is being exhausted. In other words, helping people in the community requires a lot of time and physical demands, as much voluntary work is a heavy task and time-consuming. And not many teenagers are willing to do this, because of their huge workload from studying and working. Additionally, many large companies may exploit their contribution and use them as a business tool. For example, in some remote areas, children have to work at an early age in some factory to earn money for their family, however, in fact they are selling like an item among big organizations without being paid a decent salary for what they have done.

In summary, although there are some positive sides for young people taking part in community work, the potential risks and drawbacks are outweighed the benefits. However, I think that if it is encouraged, rather than mandated, it is generally advantageous.