Some people believe that young people know about international pop and movie stars but know very little about famous people from the history of their own country. Why is this? How can more interest be created in young people to gain more knowledge about their own famous people from history?

These days, young people tend to have more interest in international celebrities than historical figures in their country. This essay will delve into these significant problems and explore some potential solutions in detail.

There are several reasons why young people nowadays know more about international pop stars instead of having knowledge of history in their country. First and foremost, it is undeniable that social media significantly contributes to the star’s recognition. By providing images, music videos, movies about some well-known celebrities, they are likely to be famous among other people and gain popularity, therefore, with the rapid development of the Internet, people can easily get access and stay updated about international pop and movie stars, which they are idolized. Another reason contributing to the poor grasp of famous people from the history of their own country is the tedious history lesson. In most countries, lessons are still immensely teacher-led and interaction is rather limited, resulting in students' lack of interest and lower academic productivity, thus, they are no longer passionate about learning their own history.

One possible solution could be to encourage filmmakers to produce historical movies and documentaries based on key historical events, use the great impact of famous celebrities to help promote the movie to many other people, wide spread in different social media platforms, thereby young people gaining more knowledge about a particular historical period by watching those films. Secondly, instead of focusing on the textbook, the teacher can add images, videos of some famous historic events, and some quizzes related to the lesson to create more appealing lessons.

In conclusion, although young people nowadays do not pay as much attention to history as they do to celebrities due to the rapid development of the Internet, teaching methods and so on. However, there are viable solutions to counteract this problem. By creating more historical films, changing the way history lessons are delivered to students, history of their own country can once again be attractive thus forming a sense of patriotism.