Some people think that young people should be required to do unpaid work helping people in the community. Are disadvantages of this requirement greater than the benefits for the community and individuals?

Recently, there have been a great deal of controversy about children doing volunteer work. Some hold the view that it is advantageous for the youth to partake in unpaid jobs to help the public; whereas, others opine this is more counterproductive. This essay would discuss both of these views and explain my personal opinion.

On the negative side, volunteering can result in some adverse consequences, one of which is child abuse. Although juveniles’ involvement in social service comes from positive purposes, some disguised charities may take advantage of adolescents’ naivety to entice and exploit their labor. Since the young are lack of experience, they will be more likely to suffer from overwork or money scam. Besides, poor academic performance of youngsters sometimes stems from volunteering activities. For example, some teenagers’ excessive spending of time for volunteering might deprive themselves of time for study, which leads to their low score in tests.

Notwithstanding the downsides of the young taking part in non-profit jobs, I reckon that the merits of unpaid jobs for children cannot be outweighed by the aforementioned drawbacks. It is obvious that almost every volunteering activity requires deep devotion, and active cooperation of teenagers. Additionally, joing in charity means that adolescents would have to face different kinds of situations. Thus, they will be able to embrace a vast array of soft skills such as communication or time-management skills. Besides, voluntary work presents golden opportunities for the young generation to gain insight into the real society and the misery burdening on the needy. They might be aware of how lucky they are, therefore being motivated to lead a responsible life and contribute more to the benefits the society.