The following is a recommendation from the personnel director to the president of Acme Publishing Company.

"Many other companies have recently stated that having their employees take the Easy Read Speed-Reading Course has greatly improved productivity. One graduate of the course was able to read a five-hundred-page report in only two hours; another graduate rose from an assistant manager to vice president of the company in under a year. Obviously, the faster you can read, the more information you can absorb in a single workday. Moreover, Easy Read costs only $500 per employee — a small price to pay when you consider the benefits to Acme. Included in this fee is a three-week seminar in Spruce City and a lifelong subscription to the Easy Read newsletter. Clearly, Acme would benefit greatly by requiring all of our employees to take the Easy Read course."

The argument mentioned above shows a recommendation from the personal director to the president of Acme's publishing company. The recommendation is related to taking a speed-reading course for increasing the productivity of employees. The director has said that many companies have used these courses and they have gained some positive results. Also, he mentions that the price of these classes is low and it would be beneficial for Acme to use these courses for its employees. I believe that there are not enough persuasive reasons for taking these courses and the recommendation had been stronger if the director would have more evaluations and comparisons about the courses and the features of Acme company and other companies.

The recommendation has some weaknesses that should be considered and answered. Based on the first claim, in some companies, the such course has improved the employees ‘productivity. Some questions should be explained. Whether or not the background of other companies is the same as Acme company. Does Acme company need such skills for its employees as much as other companies? How comparable the needs and aims of other companies are with the Acme company? Some companies may benefit from this course because of some related needs that they have. In other words, the productivity of other companies may depend on the speed-reading of employees.

In the suggestion above, the personnel director has pointed out two successful graduates of this course. The problem is whether or not these samples have been chosen randomly or intentionally. The number of samples is not a good indication to prove the superiority of the course. There should be more random cases. There is no evidence to prove that the level or skill of the person who can read a five-hundred-page report in only two hours before the course was low and only with the such course has improved. Also, in the second case, do other factors have no affect the promotion of a person to become vice president of his company? The person may before be participating in the course have tried to get promoted and accidentally during this course have gained such promotion. The ambiguities of these cases should be checked and resolved.

The expenditure of the course for each person is $500, the personnel director believes that compared to the benefits the cost of the course is low. If the company wants to pay, this cost in comparison to other running costs might be reasonable. But if employees have to pay, this cost may not be affordable to all of them and also according to their duties spending money on such course might be a waste of money because it does not have any benefits for them. Also, the options mentioned for the course may not be acceptable and satisfying to all employees.

Finally, the employees must not be required to attend the course. Participation in the course should be optional because compulsory courses can be counterproductive.

In conclusion, the recommendation of the director has to be checked more. According to his argument, we cannot say exactly whether or not the speed-reading course is beneficial to Acme company.