Some people who have been in prison become good citizens later. Some say that these are the best people to talk to school students about the dangers of committing a crime. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

In the contemporary society, it is generally believed that former prisoners, who have successfully improved their morality, are the best choice in terms of educating school children the harmful effects of committing crime. Personally, I totally concur with this statement.

For a variety of reasons, former prisoners can bring certain values and become a more suitable option to teach school children the consequences of crime. To begin with, individuals who completed their sentence with positive results can provide deeper insights of their life behind the bars to school students. In other words, young students with weak mentality can imagine the hardship they might face if committing a crime, thus, tend to avoid any acts against the laws at the very beginning.

Apart from the abovementioned practical concerns, inviting ex-convicts to pursuade students to stay away from any evil acts would be effective as these people can somehow become a role model or a great inspiration to students. To explain, former inmates, who have turned into a good citizen after imprisonment, may bring their personal stories as well as emotional sentiments during the discussion with students. This means that they may express their regrets over the time living in jail, missing a number of significant milestones in their life, such as their children’s graduation or the growth of their offspring. As a result, touching talks from these former criminals can create empathy and even fear of wasting a lifetime among youngsters, driving them away from commiting any wrongdoings.

Taking everything into consideration, this reinforces my perspective that in order to enlighten young people the detrimental impacts of crime, giving former prisoners a chance to talk to young learners seems to be optimal.