Some pp believe that everyone has a right to have access to university education and that governments should make it free for all students no matter what financial background they have

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Tuition fees are becoming increasingly in recent years. The affordability of higher education has always been a topic of interest. It is argued that the government should remove tuition for all students in any case. While this thinking is valid to certain extent, I believe that abolishing tuition also brings some negative impacts for students.

There are many compelling reasons why students should be attended college education without paying anything. Firstly, It is undeniable that higher education plays an integral part in our life while there are many students who have difficult situations such as low-income family, no parents… can not pursue their education. Therefore, these students need more concern from the authorities to continue their study path. Secondly, removing tuition also drives students to attend higher education more which can create an educated workforce for the country as well as reduce the youth crime rate.

Despite the aforementioned benefits, I would contend that, the provision of free-of-charge higher education can cause demerits to both individuals and society. On the individual level, if there is no financial burden on their shoulder, they will not have the motivation to study and drop anytime. On the societal level, waiving tuition can put a strain on government budgets when they pay numerous expenses for education which can lead to budget deficits, tax hikes, or reduced welfare.

In conclusion, while the potential benefits of abolishing tuition for students make it seem like a good idea, I believe that government should not make it free for everyone.