Some say that because many people are living much longer, the age at which people retire from work should be raised considerably.

To what extend to you agree or disagree?

Nowadays, our lifespan has been greatly extended in comparison to the past thanks to various healthcare innovations, thus, some people believe that it is a must to significantly increase in the retirement age. In my opinion, extend the working age could lead to some remarkable benefits, however, it would be accompanied by some inevitable problems.

It is undeniable that changing the working-age ceiling could bring considerable advantages to the nations. Firstly, having the workforce increased remarkably with experienced workers would allow the economy to develop in all aspects and create wealth for their nations. Foreseeing this, many countries have applied the working-age extension in their policies and received a great improvement in all economy performance index. Another interesting perk of retirement age extension is that it helps companies to have their experts staying longer, which results in promising organization performance. A great example of this is more than half of the CEOs of corporations in last year Forbes’ top 100 is above 65, and these people are all regarded as their company invaluable assets.

On the other hand, the increasing age of retirement could lead to some serious social problems. The first issue is that it would result in corporations with the old men network holding top positions for too long, which would discourage younger and potential employees to climb up their career ladder. Many entrepreneurs have revealed that one of the reasons they chose to start their own business despite having experience working for prestigious companies simply is that it is impossible to thrive for top positions. Another issue is that when having to work at such old age, people would lose their enthusiasm towards their jobs, and no longer keeping their efficiency. After decades of working hard, most employees should spend their time taking rests, enjoying life and doing things that they have always wanted to do instead of continuing to devote to works.

To sum up, increasing the retirement age has its pros and cons, thus, it is suggested that policymakers should make careful consideration before choosing to apply this policy.