Some say that because many people are living much longer, the age at which people retire from work should be raised considerably. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Increased life span has brought a hot debate that retirement age should be increased or not. Some people advocate setting older ages to become a pensioner. I strongly believe that worker shouldn’t get their pension in older ages because they had already won the retirement right by spending enough time at work and also will not be productive as in younger ages.

In the one hand, expanded life period should not be an excuse for labours to continuing their job. People usually build up their annuity after approximately a 25 year-work life in many countries of the world. After this period of time, they obtain the right to deal with their personal interest such as traveling to other countries or dealing with their hobbies. For instances, a father, breadwinner who worked in a workplace for more than 20 years to serve a good life for his family , should have some times before he died to enjoy his life. If workers have not enough times for themselves after retirement , their whole life become like an imprisonment.

On the other hand, older workers may decrease productivity and cause serious accidents. After an age, the cognitive and physical performance of humans are usually decrease. They become less productive and less energetic. Moreover this may emerge some disasters in workplaces. For example, a bus driver, older than 60 years old, more likely to have a heart attack risk than younger drivers. During a heart attack event, it always jeopardize the life of other passengers. So that employing labours after certain ages might be risky for workers health and also other people.

To sum up, although some people are favor in increasing the retirement ages, parallel to the raised life span, in my opinion, working in older ages is not humanitarian for personal life and harbor some risk for labour and public health.