Some say that because many people are living much longer, the age at which people retire from work should be raised considerately.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Nowadays, there has been an ongoing argument that working period should be increased deliberately because longevity of mankind is being extended. From my perspective, I totally do not advocate for this idea.

There are a plethora of reasons why I disagree with that opinion. First, since some health problems relating to mental and physical hinder the elder citizens work effectively, their contribution to the enterprises is no longer valuable. In fact, by holding their position, it impacts negatively on both their health and development of companies. Second, by not inducing this idea, the government could avoid some severe damages or accidents from the older when they work. That means that it decreases the risky in the labor environment, which plays significant roles in economic developments.

Apart from the practical reasons I expressed above, I also believe that this idea does not bring any merits for society in terms of the economy and morality. The older have their right to retire early, which means they have more time to enjoy their life that they are deserved to obtain. It, thus, the government could show respects for ancestors, who dedicate their life for the developments of the country. Regarding the economy, in lieu of continuing hiring elderly people, the government should encourage all young people, who are unemployed, to occupy the vacant positions left by retired people. By the way, the unemployment rates will decrease and result in eradicating burdens for the economy.

In conclusion, with the compelling reasons relating to the health of the older, morality, and the economy, I completely disagree with this opinion.