Some say that because many people are living much longer, the age at which people retire from work should be raised considerately.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Nowadays, the number of senior citizens is living much longer after retirement. As a result, it has appeared an argument that the age that people retire from work at should be raised dramatically. However, I am of the opinion that the retirement age should not be modified because of several following factors.

To begin with, the elderly should worth having such a long time after retiring from work. To be more specific, the elderly had dedicated most of their life to contributing to the development of their workplaces, as well as their nation. Thus, they deserve a long time to enjoy life after retiring from work. Moreover, retired citizens are able to make some contribution to society. For example, Vietnamese elderly people’s organization often held fund-raising music festivals to provide disadvantaged and handicapped children in remote or mountainous areas with better lives by the money they gain from selling tickets.

Besides, job opportunities ought to be given to other promising generations. This means that the young who have lots of profound determination and prominent talents are more likely to devote their youth to developing themselves and bettering their countries while the elderly residents enjoy their after-retiring lifetime.

All in all, I disagree with the belief that there should be an increase in the retirement age due to the fact that not only can young generations have more choices of jobs, but the elderly people deserve a long time to unwind after working in a dedicate way for a lengthy period as well.