Some say that because many people are living much longer, the age at which people retire from work should be raised considerably. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Thanks to the advancement of the health-care system and life quality, people’s longevity has significantly been improved. Many people believe that it is necessary to lengthen people’s working time. However, in my perspective, although working at old ages may benefit citizens to some extent, individuals should be forced to retire at a particular time.

It is obvious that employing aged staff may have negative impacts on not only workers but also companies’ profits. First and foremost, doing a job when employees are not vigorous enough increases the chances of accidents. When workers get older, they may find it difficult to perform the tasks exactly and effectively due to their poor health condition and reduction of mental strength, which gives rise to the number of mistakes at work. The older the become, the more risks they have to face.

Moreover, due to the upgradation of facilities and working styles, it is possible that the elderly who are not highly qualified cannot meet the demand of their expertise. As a result, the enterprise’s productivity will seriously be affected.

Another important reason that the government as well as laborers need to put into severe consideration is the spiritual life quality. This means that after a whole life devoting to the development of their company, employees deserve a happy and relaxing life. Instead of spending the whole day dealing with troubles and trying to meet the deadlines, individuals now are allowed to enjoy their precious time with beloved grandchildren as well as pursuing their hobbies such as gardening or reading. Only by doing this can they find the value of life.

In conclusion, with the above reasons, I strongly believe that it is unfair to obligate senior staff to sacrifice to work during the rest of their lifetime.