Some say parents whose children are breaking the law should be punished in some way. To what extent do you agree or

disagree?

It is widely perceived that parents should be punished for their misbehaving kids. From my point of view, I partly agree with this view.

Firstly, making parents responsible for their children’s misdeeds acts as a deterrent for those who are negligent in allowing their children to commit a crime. A range of parents tend to be occupied with their work, thereby not taking care of their kids and putting an onus on raising them. Should parents not prevent their offspring from engaging in wilful misconduct, their kids will become naughty and uneducated. Moreover, children’s misbehavior is condoned by their family members, which would in turn recidivism and not comply with societal norms. As a result, parents will be reprimanded for not rectifying their children’s deviance. This would therefore lessen the burgeoning crime rate in the society.

However, children would inevitably take it for granted if parents took responsibility for their mistakes. Were families to be accountable for their child's criminal actions, their offspring would grow into insensible and apathetic. They would consider that the onus is on their parents to resolve their minor infractions. For that reason parents should not be held legally responsible for their children's misdemeanor, they could ask for the police officers to get involved and seek retribution for them. This would therefore learn from mistakes and change youth criminals into law-abiding citizens.

In sum, while I tend to agree that parents should not be punished for their misbehaving kids, I disagree that the vicarious liability of parents for being too lax in nurturing their children should not be enforced because the onus is on their offspring.