Some students prefer to take a gap year between high school and university, to work or to travel. Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

These days, most pupils often give precedence to embarking on university after their high school graduation. Nevertheless, more and more ones choose another option, which is taking a gap year, has been a topic of public interest. Each has its own perks, but I personally lean toward the latter for some reasons provided below.

It is understandable why many people subcribe to the idea that pupils should have access to university immediately after finishing high school level. First, it is obvious that gap year takers would lose momentum. This might lead to the fact that students could fall behind and find it immensely hard to resume their study as usual. Also, once people take advantage of gap year to look for jobs as well as earn some money, they probably do not long to get back to their study because of the allure of salary or chances which they can climb higher positions in their jobs.

Despite aforementioned drawbacks, I am convinced that it will pale in comparision with benefits if we take into account in more detail. The first one is that pupils can blow off some steam or take park in extracurricular or recreational activities after graduation. This can be hard to do as they have to immerse themselves in their intense work study if attending university immediately. On top of that, as more and more high schools provide inadepquate career guidance, sparing several months to look for suitable jobs is imperetive. For instance, pupils can take advantage of gap year to travel somewhere in order to discover their own interests or pick up some languages to enrich knowledge for themselves, then they could make their own decisions to set up important goals and choose a suitable major when attending university.

In conclusion, while the drawbacks of taking a gap year between high school and university are undeniable, I would content that this will benefit pupils if we consider thoroughly.