Some students take one year off between finishing school and going to university, in order to travel or to work. Do you think advantages outweigh disadvantages?

Students, nowadays, choose to take a one-year gap before going to university. While this might bring about some disadvantages for students, I do think that the benefits they can receive are overwhelming.

There are few reasons as opposed to the decision to take one year off school. First of all, students who leave school for one year might forget some critical subjects’ knowledge by the time they get back school. Therefore, they have to spend more time revising for the university entrance exam. Secondly, due to gaping one year to travel or work, these students attend universities later than their current peers. The gap in ages might be a difficulty for them to fit in and to make new friends. For example, I was once the older in my class, and it was very hard for me to talk to my classmates because of differences in viewpoints.

On the other hand, a year off school offers students a lot of advantages. Firstly, gap year students can utilize their one-year time to travel and explore the world. Travelling is one of the best ways to relax and unwind students from studying pressures. In addition, students taking one year off school to work can gain practical first-hand experiences on the career they want to pursuit. Provided with these career insights, they can make an accurate choice of their future university major.

In conclusion, the advantages of taking a year off school outweigh the drawbacks, and students should gap a year to either work or study before finishing high school and attending university.