Some studies suggest criminals have a low level of education. For this reason, the best way to reduce crime levels is to educate people in prisons so that they can get a job after they are released from prisons. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

It is true that the majority of criminals are people receiving little to no education. This leads to the discussion saying that equipping prisoners with proper education to help them find a job after being discharged is the ultimate solution. However, I am against this statement because the better way to tackle this issue would be educating possible criminals in advanced and establish serious punishments for offenders.

Some people argue that if criminals are provided chances to obtain knowledge in jails, they could be employed after getting out of it, thus lowering crime rates. This is partly sound because this solution could only reduce the rates of ex-criminals recommitting crimes. To solve the problem constructively, governments should make investment in education system in underdeveloped regions, where there are high level of crimes. When people in these areas are substantially equipped with certain knowledge and skills, they could make a living on their own hard work, instead of committing illegal acts. To further foster this, it is also crucial that investments in infrastructure are made so that companies are encouraged to move out of metropolitans.

Another possible solution would be for authority to pose stricter penalties for wrongdoings. For example, in North Korea, people who illegally import foreign cultural publications into the country will receive death sentence. There have been several cases like this in North Korea, those who are intending to commit this would look at the previous cases as a lesson and thus be discouraged to offend the same crime. Ever since introducing this punishment, the number of cases trying to import foreign culture has considerably fallen.

In conclusion, educating prisoners is not the best way in the attempt of lowering crime levels. More feasible strategies would be providing employment job opportunities for potential criminals and raising levels of punishments.