Some suggest that young people should take a job for a few years between school and university Discuss what the advantages and disadvantages might be for people who do this

It is common nowadays that students work for a period of time instead of going straight to university. In my opinion, young people can gain new experience while I also think that it could lead to some problems.

On the on hand, one of the advantages of getting into a job before university is that you can learn new things which are imperative in the future. For example, working in a restaurant as a waiter requires capabilities such as attentiveness, teamwork, and socialization. These skills are useful in the university life where you have to make new friends and work together with them. Imagine going into your favourite university but end up being isolated from colleagues instead.

Another merit is that you can become independent. Working as a full-timer keeps you and your family apart. To illustrate this, one of my friends used to be homesick while working as a supermarket clerk. However, he is now accustomed to his college rather than being away from his parents and siblings. Moreover, getting a job before applying university gives you plenty time to pay some universities fees. Therefore, you are not likely to pay off any debt.

On the other hand, however, there are some disadvantages to this which you may not fulfill the major you want to take because the university you are applying may drop the subject. Also, competition between other people may rise. In other words, even if you are eligible to enroll, you could not be accepted by the university because of more intellectual students.

Overall, I think there are pros and cons working in between school and college. However, it is inevitable that obtaining new knowledge and personality are vital for you.