Do you agree or disagree with the following statement It is more important to keep your old friends than it is to make new friends Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer

Together with the improvements in society, friendship has played a huge role in people's lives. Thus, the question has been raised as to whether it is imperative to keep your old friends than to make new friends. While it is undeniable that both arguments have their own merit to boast, if forced to choose one over another, my resolute standpoint is definitely in line with making new friends and I think this way for two reasons which I will explain in the following essay.

To begin with, it is beneficial for people to make new friends because they would have many more opportunities to broaden their perspectives. To be specific, people are exposed to a variety of cultures, religions, and personalities when meeting new friends which expand their thoughts and ideas on people's mind and other countries. Should individuals make new friends, they can understand diversity easier and faster. My own experience demonstrates this reality. During my first 2 years in Korean college as an exchange student, I didn't know much about politics. However, when I made new friends there, I could meet people from all over the world who has all different ethnics and culture. Eventually, I was able to know more about the world which helped my college major academically. Such an example demonstrates that making new friends is more vital than previous friends.

Moreover, making new acquaintances helps to release stress because when someone is around, people tend to interact with each other as they get to talk about each other's stories and hobbies. In fact, research conducted by the World Health Organization suggested that when a person is talking to their friend, they tend to forget about the worries and annoying mind. Thus, a person could be healthier and stress-free. Though it may not be the true purpose of its foundation, the person can overcome the difficulty emotionally so that he or she can feel relaxed and calm. Additionally, friends are there to support you and make you enjoy. As a result, the more friends a person makes, the greater the happiness for them. This shows that having a new friend will lead a person to forget about bad memories.

In conclusion, I strongly believe that it is crucial for people to make new friends because of the reasons stated above. Opinions may vary from people to people, but what does not change is that this topic is something that needs to be mentioned.