Some universities ban students to use smartphones in school, do you agree or disagree with that? Write an essay to explain your opinion.

Nowadays, young people are familiar with accessing technology soon, especially using cell phones, so cell phones are their dispensable belongings. But many people think that students should be forbidden to use cell phones in school because it may affect students’ studying. In my opinion, banning mobile phones in school is unnecessary since they also provide many supports for students in life and learning.

I firmly believe that prohibiting using smartphones in school does not respect their right. In urgent situations, cell phones are the most helpful and instant means to help students receive messages quickly from their parents or friends. Many parents keep contacting their children regularly because they want to make sure that their children are still fine when learning far from home. Besides, most students, especially tertiary students who usually tend to make online shops as part-time jobs to support their tuition fees need a smartphone to do their business. There will be some trouble with students if they cannot use their phones in school.

Moreover, smartphones are absolutely high-tech supplies for students to study. They can use smartphones to look up information that their teachers require accessing to many sources. Checking some vocabularies in the online dictionary is more convenient and correct than in the traditional way. Even with these advantages, many people state that using mobile phones in class may distract students and cause many bad learning performances. However, they should consider that students’ achievement in learning is good or bad mostly because of their learning attitude and efforts, not because of using mobile phones in class.

In conclusion, I disagree with prohibiting students from using mobile phones in class because mobile phones help students a lot in their study and private life. Students need to take responsibility for their using high-tech devices in class as smartphones so that they can become wise users in learning, not smartphone addicts.