Some universities now offer their courses on the Internet so that people can study online. Is this a positive or negative development?

In present times, online courses have become famous progressively; some universities have used them as a new approach instead of traditional learning. some people believe that the development of online courses has brought consider">considerable benefits, while others have an opposite view. In my opinion, I would argue that the advantages outweigh the disadvantages.

The main drawback of the trend of university online courses is the lack of interaction. learning online means students not only may

not have opportunities to face-to-face contact with teachers in a classroom on a regular basis but also have to rely on automatic content. Furthermore, students will not have a cognitive view of the significance of interaction and rivalry with classmates in an educational environment. For example, whereas students attending traditional classes have interaction with their teachers and peers and even discuss with their classmates about specific issues of the lessons or part of subjects of their assignment, online learners are restricted by the chatting areas or website. As a result, students not only lose their motivation but also become more and more passive in their studies.

Despite internet-based learning’s negative effect, it has significant benefits. First of all, students can access all resources within a traditional course; these courses are with no limitation of time, so learners can watch them over if they do not understand. Besides, the cost of learning will cut down consider">considerably, which means students can save a tremendous amount of money for their living. Finally, the widespread presence of the internet makes online courses become a positive way for learners regardless of age, gender, local, and backgrounds to approach with a variety of information. For example, some adults who live in rural areas or dropped out of university want to continue their studies, but they have either time or money, an online course will enable them to get a degree whether who they are and where they are from, this was considered to be impossible a few years ago before the internet was spread widely.

In conclusion, while learning online has some drawbacks, I consider it to be a positive development in the educational system in the

future.