Some people believe that there should be fixed punishments for each type of crime. Others, however, argue that the circumstances of an individual crime, and the motivation for committing it, should always be taken into account when deciding on the punishment. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

It is believed that there should be immutable punishments for certain crimes, while others have an opposite view. Although some significant benefits that fixed punishments bring, I believe that it is better to judge criminals base on their circumstances and the incentive for acting against the law.

There are two main reasons why it is said that each type of crime should be punished with fixed punishments. First of all, everyone is aware of punishing on each crime, so they know exactly and precisely punishment for certain crimes. Therefore, fixed punishment will show the fairly as well as transparency of the law system. Moreover, immutable punishment also an effective way to lighten the workload of ministry of justice to lessen to pressure of criminal cases while ensuring to security and fairly to the society. As a result, the rate of criminals will be reduced apparently.

On the other hand, I believe that the circumstances of an individual crime and the motivation for getting involved in illegal activities should be taken into consideration. Some criminals break the law by mistake while others may do it on purpose; therefore, criminals should be punished relying on their motive. For example, murdering on purpose, compared to murdering by mistake to protect themselves, are obviously different. According to the rule, depending on how gravity the situation is, the magistrate will judge the level of punishment, but when they take the motivation onto an account, the level of punishment will be reduced. This way of judgment will show the humanity of the law system as well as the government.

In conclusion, besides the benefits fixed punishment brings, I believe that judging criminals depending on their circumstances and the motivation for breaking the law are obviously outweighed and more ethical.