Some universities now offer their courses on the Internet so that people can study online. (b) Do you think this is a positive or negative development?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge and experience.

Distance learning has been a worldwide tendency in recent years. While it is true that online classes bring about enormous benefits to learners, I believe that the trend has far more drawbacks which are worth considering.

It is undeniable that learners derive considerable benefits from online learning. First and foremost, the courses, in which students can partake on the Internet, allow a variety of learners from far distance. A huge numbers of children in remote areas, where they have limited access to education, are given the opportunity to participate classrooms. What is more, several useful skills can be learnt via online learning. In order to fulfill teachers’ demand, students learn to write and send emails, as well as to use word processor to write a report and make presentations. These skills are highly essential for them in the future. Additionally, distance learning may help learners with financial pressure due to the reduction in study expense such as housing, food, transport and the like. Without financial concern, they can have more concentration on their study instead of taking various part-time jobs to cover their daily cost.

Nevertheless, there is no shortage of disadvantages of studying online that need to be taken into careful consideration. First, the tremendous reliance on computers may be associated with learners’ degradation of interpersonal skills which is a real challenge for language teachers to design speaking lessons. Moreover, students, especially very young learners, may suffer from spelling and pronunciation mistakes due to the lack of interaction with teachers and friends. Another negative point is technical mishaps that may occur regularly in online classrooms. The unstable transmission and power shortage can result in missed lessons and a number of difficulties in teaching listening skills. Poor quality of sound also leads to students’ unpleasantness and loss of concentration during the hours of online learning.

In conclusion, the abovementioned explanation has addressed the pros and cons which can be a dilemma when people evaluate the effectiveness of distance learning. Personally, I think its pros can never overshadow its cons; therefore, people should be cautious to minimize the negative impacts of this new learning trend.