Some universities now offer their courses on the Internet so that people can study online. Is this a positive or negative development?

Recently, due to the evolution of technology, more schools all around the world provide students with online classes. This phenomenon has both pros and cons. However, I strongly concur that the benefits are dominant.

On the one hand, the main drawback of virtual education is that students may lack the opportunity to socialize. When it comes to online learning, people might not have a chance to engage face-to-face with their teacher and will instead have to interact by chatting. Moreover, it is not easy for learners to compare their performance with their peers when they study on the Internet which can affect the grade of some people. For instance, in a traditional classroom, there is a healthy environment for students to come into direct contact with each other. This component is missing in the virtual classroom due to the fact that online learners are restricted to communicate through website forum areas.

Despite the downsides mentioned above, I believe that online education is a boon for students because of various reasons. First and foremost, it is clear that remote teaching allows learners to study in a flexible way which means that they can work whenever and wherever is convenient. Secondly, nontraditional pupils are authorized to study at their own pace. For example, if there is a lecture that they find difficult, they can revise it as many times as they want by rewinding the video of the professor teaching until you understand fully. This is not possible in the case of regular classroom learning. Moreover, due to studying on the Internet, the cost can be reduced greatly. Finally, online learning offers open access to anybody who has an inclination to study, regardless of age, location or background.

In conclusion, while virtual learning may have some dermirit, I consider it to be a helpful innovation overall.