Sonme people think the best way to solve traffiic congestion in cities is to provide freepublic transport 24 hours a day, 7 days a week. Is it good or bad, to what extent do you agree?

When it comes to the issue about how to tackle traffic congestion, some people argue that the best solution is to offer the citizens free public transport all the time. To be honest, I am not approval of this opinion for several reasons.

To begin with, providing people with sufficient means of free public transport for 24 hours a day definitely consumes the national budget an enormous amount of fee. The government will have to take responsibility for paying multiple type of cost, such as to upgrade the infrastructure or installing more road signals. Moreover, more people choosing to use free public transport also mean that government would lose the road vehicles. This leads to the fact that governments not only have to pay the investment for public transport but they are also put under heavily economic burdens from the loss of tax payments.

Furthermore, a lot of people can lose their job cause just a few continue to use the other traveling services. It is obvious that the increase of people using public transport occurs simultaneously with the decrease of taxi users and the private parking. This makes people working in these fields become unemployees as their services are no longer in use. Therefore, the economies of some countries, especially the developing, will be seriously stagnated because of lack of work force.

On the other hands, offering free public transport all the time also bring many benefits to the whole society. The atmosphere is much fresher because there is not as much fossil fumes as before. Besides, how to travel will not be the top concern of people with lower financial condition anymore.

In the nutshell, although providing free public transport 24 hours a day, 7 days a week has a number of benefits, its drawbacks, such as huge cost f investment or the higher rate of unemployment seem to be much more noticeable by the whole community.