Space exploration costs tax payers an exorbitant money each year.

Discuss the advantages and disadvantages and give your opinion.

Huge amount of taxpayer's money is being allocated to investigate outer space annually. This essay will demonstrate that this is a positive development and can lead to new scientific discoveries. It will first suggest that the ability to forecast natural disasters is the primary advantage, followed by a description of the fact that this kind of research projects are very expensive with minor chances of success.

First of all, space exploration makes it possible for people to predict the weather beforehand. That is to say, observation through satellites allows them to get information about changes in the atmosphere which enables government to warn or evacuate the citizens if there are certain catasrophe that may threaten them. By his way fundings for exploring space may save millions of lives. For example, in 2004, meteorologists of Sun City Center,Florida, forecasted the strike of the hurricane with the speed of 30 m/s and it caused to prevent many deaths.

However, the space expedition costs so much and rate of success is quite low. Building spacecrafts and shuttles requires sophisticated equipments and special devices with well-qualified experts to operate them which all lead to enormous expenses. Despite this huge fundings, a small accident can cause a big failure or even death of many. For instance, the Challenger space shuttle exploded within minutes of its launch resulting the death of 7 astronauts, in 1986.

In general, setting aside much money for space exploration programs is a welcome trend as it will provide further development that can facilitate the human's life through foreseeing possible threats. Although, it may cause some dreadful outcomes, its overall effect on mankind is positive.

In conclusion, funding large amount of money on space exploration may seem unprofitable and has little success rate to some extent, the advantage that it brings to humans by giving a chance to predict climate changes is considerable.