With the rise of e-books comes the decline in paper books.Some people see this as a good step forward while others do not.

What are the advantages and disadvantages of this trend?

As electronic books are getting used more widely, printed books are becoming less popular. For some, this development seems positive, while others think differently.This essay will first suggest that the convenience of using such books is the primary benefit, while the risk of poor eyesight is the substantial drawback.

The main reason most people choose e-books is because this sort of books can be carried and stored easily, which makes them convenient to read. Today's modern technologies create chance for readers to store thousands of digital books on a single device as well as to adjust fonts according to the reader's preference. This allows them to use their books whenever or wherever they want. According to the recent report of the Guardian approximately 76 percent of students in the UK prefer to use electronic books rather than paper books because of its convenience.

In spite of these facilities, screen glare eyestrain are serious concerns for many users of e-books. The display resolution of computer screens and mobile devices is incredibly less than the print quality which is produced by a printing press. Therefore the majority of e-book readers are likely to hurt their eyes, as the recent survey shows, in Japan, over 70 percent of patients who complained about their eyesight were the people who read e-books regularly.

In conclusion, reading books through modern technologies may provide availability and effortlessness, yet people should keep in mind that there are certain health risks associated with this trend and it should be taken into consideration before choosing types of books.