Space travel has been a reality for some time. Some people think space tourism would develop in the future. Do you think space tourism is a positive or negative development?

Traveling into space has been presented for quite a while since 2001. It is debatable whether or not there is a broader future development of space tourism. I also consider whether advantages outweigh disadvantages of making space as a tourism destination.

On the one hand, the most draw for commercial space tourists is the awe-inspiring experience, a new perspective of Earth, and the most beautiful view humans have ever seen. Most people grow up believing that they will never go to space, and the fact that going can become a reality for some is a huge achievement. Moreover, another big perk of space travel for passengers is the experience of microgravity, where they will be able to feel weightless on the spacecraft for a few minutes. This may not change their perspective on Earth, but it’ll certainly give a feeling of euphoria.

On the other hand, it is true that space travel costs are wildly expensive, being beyond our reach, up to hundreds of thousands of dollars. This kind of money is obviously extremely hard to come by and demonstrates how impactful wealth inequality is. Offering supremely wealthy people exclusive access to something groundbreaking seems to reward people with the highest honour for being rich. It is unfair that the wealthy are given access to space travel above all others. Additionally, there are definite safety concerns about being in space for prolonged periods of time too as well as failures of coming to space travel from time to time.

It seems that there are conflicts between benefits and drawbacks of commercial space tourism.