In spite of the advances made in agriculture, many people around the world still go hungry.

Why is this the case?

What can be done about this problem?

The last decades have witnessed ever-growing concerns on the worldwide famine despite of agricultural advancement. Various individuals contend that the main culprit of hunger is climate change whereas certain socialists asserted that poverty is the major source of the predicament. In this sense, it is worth ascertaining this rather polemical issue thoroughly and discussing ways of overcoming this pressing issue.

First and foremost, it is widely acknowledged that the worrisome famine in various areas over the world is the implication of climate change in recent years. The increasingly frequent and disastrous natural disasters, including drought, tsunami and earthquakes, have taken away asset of countless number of residents worldwide. Resultantly, areas of crops, in addition to damaged infrastructure and transportation, were destroyed in a large scale. Hence, crop failure increases the likelihood to malnutrition and infectious disease. As asserted by certain socialists, poverty is the major cause of famine, notably when various individuals are unable to withstand inflation. Unquestionably, capital in various developing countries is insufficient to import food from other areas in the world, and therefore the residents suffer from life threatening starvation.

As large-scale famine is known to be life threatening, related authorities ought to make incessant efforts to mitigate the detrimental scenario.

Undoubtedly, the government plays a pivotally vital role to help the impoverished residents to survive. Pragmatic measures such as supplying seeds and tools that farmers can grow own food are constructive measures. Distributing cash and providing emergency food when necessary and working with a network of local partners to help farmers are other alternatives.

Viewed as a whole, it is axiomatic that urgent and immediate measures ought to be taken to ameliorate the situation. Yet, certain attention ought to be placed on advocating the associated authorities for increased investment on saving the life of residents. Indeed, far-reaching measures are able to assist the adaptation for the new skills and concepts in the foreseeable future.