Sports encourage competition rather than cooperation. Therefore, sports should not be encouraged at school. To what extent do agree or disagree with the statement?

The subject of sports' incitement to rivalry amongst teenagers at school is fiercely debated. Some people believe that any athletic activity or game lead to competition between players, on the other hand, others are convinced that sports are played only for leisure and, thus, have nothing with rivalry. In this essay an attempt will be made to compare and discuss both of the described views on sports' encouragement at schools.

There are two sides to this debate, and I would like to focus firstly on the undeniable fact that competition is an inalienable part of modern society. Moreover, competition is the driving force of social progress. According to this, it is clear that there would be no evolution, especially in any kind of sports, without rivalry between athletes. Competition is needed to, pure and simple, stimulate players' desire for victory. Therefore, in individual sports, such as boxing, martial arts and karate, striving for triumph over an opponent, to state the matter differently, spirit of rivalry, comes to the fore.

Nevertheless, taking a look at second point of view, for some people competition is not essential to play a game. It is unavoidable that everybody, playing any type of games, thinks about victory, however, sometimes, as it is said before, sports are played to feel the spirit of cooperation and team work. When it comes to team sports, such as football, basketball and volleyball, rivalry is not the decisive factor to win a game. What is more, they require cooperation between players, and without which, winning a game appears impossible. Regarding to the given fact, it is obvious that discussed games above can raise pupils' team spirit and strengthen unity of a class.

My opinion based upon an analysis of the two arguments is that sports do not incite competition amongst participants as it is widely concidered. Contrariwise, sports result in the building-up in the friendship and, what is more common, just good relationship between players. Personally, I support the idea of sports' encouragement at schools, as it benefits students both physically and psychologically.