In some countries children have very strict rules of behavior, in other countries they are allowed to do almost anything they like. To what extent should children have to follow rules?

The subject of the ways of upbringing children has been fiercely debated. Some people, especially ones that are from Eastern countries, believe that youngsters have to adhere to the strict set of regulations, so that they become obedient to their parents and adults, in general. However, others consider childhood as a period, when the child is given freedom, thus is allowed to almost anything. In this essay an attempt will be made to compare both of the described views on how to nurture the child.

There are two sides to this debate, and I would like to focus firstly on the undeniable fact that cultures which impose strict rules of behavior at young age shape children as responsible citizens. In Eastern civilization, for instance, parents bring up their offsprings by methods that are based on rigid rules of behavior. As a result, in these very countries level of crime, prostitution and drug abusement is extremely low. Secondly, if children do not follow the described above set of rules, they will get out of control and become indolent and if the worst comes to the worst they will turn into alcoholics or drug addicts. According to this, it is clear that government will be forced to bear the burden of maintaining society, where this kind of people exist.

Nevertheless, taking a look at the second point of view, it is important to remember that all the innovations come from free thinking and observing the environment, therefore, young people need to be exposed to this type of ground where they can grow. In western part of the world, for example, where youth are nurtured with freedom, a a huge number of innovators have been produced. Moreover, if a child is not taught to think out of box and to explore the horizon, it is unlikely that young person becomes a successful sculptor, artist, musician, designer or writer, where creativity and critical thinking are vitally needed. Regarding to the supplied fact, it is undoubtable that freedom in upbringing children leads to better creative thinking skills and ability of being successful throughout the career.

My opinion based on an analysis of the two arguments is that children should follow the set of regulations, by and large, set up by parents and society, but these rules should not be too strict in order to leave room for children, so that they could develop career enhancing skills needed to a brighter future and simply to live in a competitive modern society.