Sports stars earn large amounts of money and are often given media coverage. Meanwhile, the arts such as music, artwork and plays are neglected. Is it a positive or negative development?

Nowadays, the popularity of sports allows athletes to earn vast amounts of money but skilled artists are ignored. This trend leads to negative impact on individuals as well as the art market.

However, there are also benefits regarding the growth of sports. Since when people do that exercise, they think that it will look great, people tend to mimic popular athletes. This phenomenon encourages them to more healthier by doing exercise. For example, Kim Yeon Ah who is the legend of Olympic in the field of ice skating. In Korea, at that time, a lot of children used to learn ice skating to become like her.

On the one hand, we no longer value artists as highly as we used to be. If people are so enthusiastic about sports, there is a possibility the extent of art market will be reduced. If so, the following generation has a fewer opportunity to experience music, artwork and plays. In addition, sports only provide instant gratification rather than give a deep impression. People need to be cultured because it is an important role in socialising with others as well as their intellectual level goes up. So three types of art above mentioned will help people become refined.

For the reasons mentioned above, I would argue that the drawbacks of sports stars' popularity and earning potential over artists outweigh the benefits.