Students should choose a university major that prepares them for a high-paying career. to what extent do you agree with this statement?

In the modern-day, choosing a major in university can significantly impact one's career opportunities. Some believe that students should pick their subject area of choice based on their income. I strongly disagree with this statement because one should prioritize their passions and interests over money. This perspective will be discussed in this essay and justified.

Teaching the younger generation to consider money over their happiness is an extremely negative mindset as it also encourages shallow perspectives such as money determines one's worth. Every job in society has its unique importance regardless of the salary they make. For example, a janitor should be as respected as a doctor because they are working hard maintaining sanitation throughout the complex, which is equally important as any other job. There is a saying that money cannot buy happiness. A doctor can live a much more luxurious life than a janitor; however, if the janitor is passionate about what they do, they can live a much happier life compared to a doctor. Many argue that focusing on a job with a good salary can be better in the long run as you will be more financially stable as time goes by. Even though this is true to some extent, can you enjoy the luxuries you own if you are not passionate about what you do?

Pursuing a career that an individual has no interest in can seriously impact all dimensions of their well-being, significantly on their mental health. Numerous research reflects how, despite the good income, many individuals report to be unhappy, stressed, anxious, depressed, and regrets their career choice. They have also shown symptoms of insomnia and have a higher chance of developing chronic conditions such as high blood pressure,

The career path one chooses directly correlates with the subjects an individual decides to study in university. I firmly believe that when making this decision, one should consider their interests and passion over their income as the overall goal in life is to be happy and healthy.