Studies have suggested that children watch much more television than they did in the past and spend less time on active or creative things What are the reasons and provide some solutions

Research has observed that teenager’s screen time has grew, while the time they spend on physical and creative activities is less. This problem is caused by a lot of factors, and I believe it could be addressed by several viable solutions.

There are some reasons why children today tend to watch television overly and spend less time on active and creative things. The first reason is that many parents are too busy to spend a lot of time looking after their children. As a result, it forms a habit for both parents and children that every time they are engaged, they let their children watch television so their children will gradually have a habit that is difficult to break. Another reason is that today many schools only have one or two lessons a week for physical activities. For that reason, the majority of teenagers are lazy to exercise or to participate in other activities because they are used to using technology devices and not doing exercise frequently.

There are two main solutions for a decline of the children’s screen time and encouraging children to do more physical and creative activities. First of all, parents should change their lifetime, spend more quality time hanging out and playing sports or brain development games with their children on the weekend. This is a great opportunity to help them stay away from watching television and make them more interested in other activities. Besides, every school should increase the number of physical lessons to three to four lessons or add exercise in between break times. By increasing the physical education class, children will be more physically active, less likely to be lazy and, importantly, avoid using mobile devices. Moreover, it is also possible to create a habit of exercise for them.

In conclusion, parents’ attention for their children and schools with few physical lessons are two big reason for increasing children’s sreen time. Parents and school are two important factors to encourage children to do more physical and creative activities.