Studies have suggested that children watch much more television than they did in the past and spend less time on active or creative things. What are the reasons and provide some solutions?

It is a fact that children are watching more television than they used to and spending less time doing active and creative activities. There are main contributors to this noticeable problem such as addictive programs and parents' carelessness and several measures are suggested to put an end to the situation.

There are major factors leading to the issue of children's excessive amount of time spent watching television. The first primary reason is that television programs are broadcast all day with addictive contents, such as vivid and colourful animation. For example, programs like Disney Channel can easily draw attention from children with their all-day-long series of animation. Another clear reason is that parents are always busy at work so they let their children watch television, an activity that does not require much attention. These two main reasons make children spend more time in front of the television screen, thus preventing them from taking part in active or creative things.

A number of possible steps can be taken to tackle this important issue. The first solution is to limit the amount of time a child can watch television. This could be done by activating downtime mode and setting a fixed time limit on the television. Another feasible solution to this matter is that parents should spend more time with their children and participate in outdoor or creative activities together. For example, a small sports competition among family members can prove appealing to children than television.

In conclusion, addictive programs and parents' ignorance are the main reasons for children watching more television and spending less time on active and creative activities. However, there are measures that can be taken to deal with the problems regarding watching time limitations and family participation in outdoor activities.