Studies have suggested that children watch much more television than they
did in the past and spend less time on active or creative things.
What are the reasons and what measures should be taken to encourage
children to spend more time on active or creative things?
Child development is irrefutably one of the most important measures of
every nation's prosperity. however, an unfortunate development as o late
has been that their creativity and physical development have been
degenerate, manifesting itself in a fall in the amount of time spend on
active and creative things, compare to considerable time for watching
television. This trend can be attributed to a host of factors and some
radical solutions should be taken to tackle the problems it may bring.
There are two main factors leading to the current trend. First, the lack of
parental care is to blame. Today, parents are up to their ear in work and
hectic schedules. Therefore, they could not spend enough time with their
child and allow their children to use smartphones freely to entertain
themself. Second, the overloaded curriculum also precludes children
from going in for physical activity. For example, in most high school in
Vietnam, students are required to finish a huge amount of assignments
before the next lecture every day, which leave them a little amount of
time to engage in other activity like extra curriculum activity.
In order to address those problems, several actions can be taken. The
first solution is that parents should spend more time interacting with
their child, and limit the amount o time that a child can watch television.
This could be done by activating the parental control mode and fixed
operating time limit on their television set. Another solution is that
schools should include subjects like Art or Physical Education as a core
subject. Thereby, children could involve more in creative things and
outdoor exercise.
In conclusion, lack of parental care and heavy school workload have
made it difficult for many children to lead a healthy life. Therefore, the
proposed solutions should be applied to remedy this situation.