Studying with a group of students in a classroom is more beneficial than learning online at home.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

It is argued that studying in group at school has the advantages making it outweigh online self-studying at home. I completely disagree with this statement and believe that self-learning is better because working on your own is a practical way to escape from negative peer pressure and could be much more efficient than being taught in a class with other students.

Firstly, those who study alone are less likely to fall under the influence from their friends. Witnessing our classmates' academic success and trying to keep pace with them can particularly make us feel overwhelmed, which might result in lackluster and poor perfomances. For example, if a student making every effort to solve a mathematical problem notice that his friends do it in a minute, he will suffer from self-doubt and his confidence and self-esteem plummet. Consequently, he may try to avoid challenges and thus cannot improve.

Secondly, working individually enables you to study at your own pace, and hence obviously enhances your effectiveness. You can simply scan or go through your materials depending on your demands without being affected by other students like when you are in a class. Moreover, due to advancements in technology, the internet which is usually unavailable at schools is now a tremendous source of information for you to consult, helps widen your knowledge as well as answers your queries.

In conclusion, although studying traditionally in a classroom has proven to be fruitful, I believe that learning online at home is more favourable by virtue of the advantages that it has.