To succeed in business, one needs to know math. To what extent do you agree or
disagree?
Many people regard math skills as a key factor to achieve success in business as it facilitates
the decision making process. However, I believe it is only one out of various factors that
contribute to business success and therefore non-essential.
(P)On the one hand, math enables key people to make better decisions. (Ex)One application of
business mathematics is to provide statistics that can predict future scenarios. These
predictions might lay a firm foundation for more informed and evidence-based decisions,
replacing biased ones based on managers’ gut feelings. (Eg)For decades, Unilever has utilised
a statistical model that can forecast the supply and demand of fast-moving consumer goods,
(R)allowing the company leaders to promptly plan production and sales of each product
category.
(P)On the other hand, I believe that one can run a business successfully without excellent math
skills. (Ex)In fact, many entrepreneurs have built billion-dollar enterprises thanks to great
personal qualities. (Eg)A good example in this case is Nguyen Thanh Duc, the chairman of
NTD Group. He was known to be a disruptive student that failed almost all school subjects
including math, yet he rose to become an inspirational leader who could motivate his
employees to strive to gain collective success for the corporation. In addition, his success is
attributed to the courage to take the risks that rational calculations, such as those that guide
Unilever, would rule out. (R)As these leadership qualities concurred with a good fortune, his
startup has evolved into a multinational business empire, becoming market leaders in many
industries including real estate, fishery and forestry.
In conclusion, although statistical math could help make better decisions, I am of the opinion
that risk taking, inspirational personality traits and luck are crucial to drive an enterprise to
success. That is why business schools should focus more on honoring interpersonal skills
including leadership and communication.