Success is often measured in wealth and material belongings. Does wealth measure success? What makes a successful person?

Man has sought to define such a vague concept as success from immemorial time. Some people believe that a successful person is determined by the material possessions that they own I doubt it. In my opinion, the key criterion for success is an ideal balance between a favorite job, a supportive family and sound health.

Firstly, despite the fact that the richest people in society are considered the most successful, they might not have the same feeling about themselves. People often set goals to attain intangible goals and the impossibility of their possession can lead even the wealthiest people to depression. For example, in the memoirs of Jordan Belford, the most influential Wall Street’s brokers, he confessed that he was despondent, as he could not find true love. Thus, people may have different goals and true success in this case is regarded as the achievement of their aims but not obtaining new cars and apartments.

Secondly, a number of other factors, apart from wealth, attributes the success of any human being. An occupation that brings satisfaction might provide a feeling of being important and complete. In addition, a supportive and united family also plays a motivating role in helping a person to reach their purposes at the earliest. For instance, J.K. Rowling admitted that after several publishers refused to issue «Harry Potter», it was her family and passion for writing that helped her overcome all adversity and ultimately become so successful. Thereby, only a combination of several factors, including the employment and the affectionate family members can shape an individual into a high achiever

Summing up, financial security is not a guarantee of a successful person, since money cannot buy such intangible values as love, family and solid health. To my mind, a sense of accomplishment through contentment is the real measure of being successful.