Success is often measured by wealth and material possessions. Do you think wealth is the best measure of success? What makes a successful person?

With a significant increase in the number of the wealthy over some recent decades, opinions have diverged on the role of affluence in assessing one’s success. While I concur with the financial status being a useful indicator of one’s achievements, my view is that it is not the only consideration.

There may two main explanations as to why people usually base on monetary and physical asset ownership to determine whether or not the owner is successful. In general, celebrities, who could constitute successful people, usually possess by far larger incomes than the ordinary. Two paradigms can be Christiano Ronaldo and Lionel Messi, known as the top footballers in the contemporary world, accompanied by higher wages than any fellow players. Furthermore, in the modern-capitalism society, money and money equivalents seem the first common goal in life because these can be deemed the most powerful means of exchange. This predominantly leads to the belief that the more money a person has, the more admiration this one could compel. Nonetheless, in numerous circumstances, if we just judge the success of someone by wealth and material assets, it is insufficient. To exemplify, Mahatma Gandhi, a hero of the Indian, who hardly possess any wealth or valuables, was highly successful as a leader. Inversely, few would consider the people becoming affluent by winning the lottery or an inheritance successful.

Beyond all the money a person possesses, there are several other determinants defining success in our lives. According to distinct desires and ambitions, people can feel successful differently. As for scientists dedicated to research, for example, one line of formula proving that their theories are true can be a great achievement. In terms of the social level, a successful person, rather than being well-off, should be an influential one, who is capable of motivating others and making differences to their lives. Indeed, some of the most influential people were not rich, yet they changed the course of history, such as Ho Chi Minh President and Vo Nguyen Giap General, two of the most successful revolutionaries in the world.

To conclude, money, although being a popular and effective indicator, is not the only measure of success, and the biggest measure of a person’s success is the ability to make positive differences in the others’ lives.