Successful sports professionals can earn a great deal more money than people in other important professions. Some people think this is fully justified while others think it is unfair. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

To earn fame and fortune by playing a sport you are good at is a dream for many young people. While some people think that the exorbent wealth accumulated by some of the sports superstars is a fair compensation for their hard work and talent; others believe that the riches could be better served to people making more important contribution to the society.

The root of the argument, I believe, is a misalignment in the definition of an important contribution to the society between people. To some, the hard work to develop the skills to reach the pinecal of a sport is a source of emmence inspiration. It helps people strive to become better at what they do. How do we put a price on that?

Also, successful sportsmen are part of a group's identity. A world-class footballer, for example, represents their nation worldwide and thus are justly treated as a national hero at home. This is true for Olympic medal winners. They carry their nation's pride. This also goes down every level of human society, be it a school, city or a neighbourhood.

On the other hand, people are also concerned about what we should value in the society and how that affects what children decide to do with their lives. The success attained by talented sportsmen look amazing from afar but it should also be made clear that success is rare in the sports industry. Only a tiny minority become truly famous and attain such wealth, and usually factors like luck and connections play a bigger role than shear talent. This false hope can distract a child in their formative years and set them up for failure.

To conclude, I believe that at the end economics and the free market decides what someone's talent is worth and there is little merit in trying to determine someone's value at an individual level. Doing that could be a dangerous sliperry slope.