Successful sports professionals can earn a great deal more money than people in other important professions. Some people think this is fully justified while others think it is unfair. Discuss both the views and give your opinion.

It is evident that acclaimed sports stars are earning huge amounts of remuneration compared to other professionals who are engaged in equally essential services. While some people consider it as unjustifiable, others believe that it is reasonable and acceptable. Both the views will be discussed hereunder, and I would explain why I support the former view.

On the one hand, some people believe that professionals such as teachers, doctors and scientists are playing a very crucial role in the functioning of society just as or even more as sports professionals. For instance, a scientist engaged in the research to invent medicines for diseases such as AIDS is doing an excellent service to society. However, such people are not paid as high as sports professionals. Therefore, according to them, it is unfair to provide such an enormous amount of money to athletic persons, because their role is in no way superior to doctors, teachers, researchers and such other professionals as whose services are indispensable to society.

On the other hand, I would postulate that giving a more significant amount of money to sports stars is justifiable and reasonable. One reason is that sports professionals take extraordinary efforts and hardships to excel in their profession. That is, the amount of time and the effort they undertake to become a competent sports star is exemplary and incomparable. Moreover, they cannot maintain these skills and talents for long, and it cannot be considered as a lifelong profession. For instance, Sachin Tendulkar, once a leading cricketer of India, has retired from his career in his early 40s, which is nowhere near the retirement age of a typical professional. Had he not got a high remuneration during his career, life would have turned out miserable for the rest of his life, with no earnings whatsoever at present.

In conclusion, there is no doubt that successful sports professionals are earning higher remuneration compared to other professionals such as doctors and scientists. However, the higher amount of money paid to them is justifiable, while considering the efforts they take and the short span of time that they remain in their profession.