Successful sports professionals can earn a great deal more money than people in other important professions. Some people think this is fully justified while others think it is iniquitous. Discuss both these views and give your opinion.

In these days of the millennium, players of sports are treated as celebrities in terms of their pay package. This has sparked a heated argument on whether it is justifiable or biased. However, in my opinion, athletes should be paid lucratively as their health is on a threat but other professions too should also be given priorities.

The prime factor behind paying huge salaries to sports person is putting their lives at risks. To be more precise, this profession demands rigorous training and an ability to perform a consistently well at speed, under fatigue and pressure conditions in a competition environment. This can cause physical or mental injury which can be detrimental to their lives. For instance, in a recent survey, it was discussed that frequent head blows can cause injury to the brain that can lead to depression, memory loss or dementia. Therefore, an attractive package is fair compensation to their countless energy and the huge health risk.

On the other hand, paying enormous salaries to sports person can create disparity among other professions which can lead to a shortage of these expertises. To elaborate more, professions such as doctors, teachers leave no stone unturned in making the world a better planet to reside. They too undergo a gruelling training and internship to hone their skills. Doctors work day in day out in keeping their patients' health. Similarly, teachers work tirelessly in moulding their students’ behaviour to make them civilized citizens. Hence, to avoid paucity of skills, these professions should not be overlooked in terms of payment.

In conclusion, athletes sacrifice a lot in terms of their health so they are paid excessively which is just; however, other occupations should also be valued and compensated appropriately.