Task 2: It is expected that there will be a higher proportion of older people than that of young people in many countries in the future? Do you think it is a positive or negative development?

It is anticipated that the percentage of the elderly population will be higher than the proportion of the younger generations. While this phenomenon can possess some notable benefits, I believe that several disadvantageous consequences will be also inevitable.

On the one hand, the excessive increment in the elderly population can lead to the ever-growing demand for widespread public healthcare services. It is incontrovertible that those who are getting older have more requirements for receiving medical attention. As a result, the national and local authorities will have to impose spending cuts or raise more taxes in order to allocate resources to expand healthcare systems. Moreover, nowadays, the elders tend to opt for private healthcare insurance because they suppose that they need to should an increasing financial burden regarding health bills. Some people also argue that the national welfare benefits are inadequate to guarantee well-qualified healthcare services when they are old.

On the other hand, it is worth noting that the reduction in the proportion of young generations also provides some notable advantages for society. From the environmental perspective, it is true that the decrease in young people means the global population will reduce. This tendency can reduce the required spaces for the construction of accommodations, eventually providing more habitats for species in the wild. In terms of the availability of occupations, thanks to the rapid evolution of leading-edge technology, many conventional jobs have been made obsolete by the numerous labor-saving appliances, which require fewer workforce. Therefore, the increase in the percentage of the youngster may lead to significant growth in unemployment, and more funding will be required to support these individuals.

In conclusion, although the growth of the elderly population can provide some benefits for society, I suppose that this can also lead to several detrimental influences on the environment and the younger populations.